Eurasia Motorsport 2010 Formula BMW Pacific Team Champions

Date posted on October 31, 2010 · Published by Mark Goddard

After the final race of the WTCC weekend at Okayama Circuit in Japan, Eurasia Motorsport became the 2010 Formula BMW Pacific Team Champions with an unassailable points leads with just one round left at Macau. Richard Bradley finished second in the race, Kotaro Sakurai fifth and Duvashen Padayachee tenth. Nabil Jeffri had finished sixth but suffered a 30 second penalty.

Oscar Tunyo leapt into the lead with Sofyan second and Bradley third. Sofyan dropped to fourth as Calvin Wong followed Bradley through. A gap back to fifth saw a long train of cars with Sakurai in 7th, Jeffri 9th and Padayachee 11th. On lap 6th Jeffri was up to 8th whilst Padayachee dropped to 12th in the line of cars squabbling over 5th place.

At the front Wong had caught Tunyo whilst Bradley kept a watching brief. It all ended in tears on lap 10 when Wong dived Tunyo from far too far back at turn 7, the resultant contact causing Tunyo to roll spectacularly out of the race. Nakayama was able to grab second place from Bradley in the confusion before the safety car was deployed for three laps and the race re-started for a one lap sprint. Bradley out-braked Nakayama in a good clean move to take second place at the flag. Sakurai was fifth from Jeffri whilst Padayachee was 11th after an entertaining race in the thick of the action.

The final round of the 2010 championship will be held at Macau on November 21.